American Indian Education Foundation ( “The American Indian Education Foundation will maintain its status as a growing, nationally recognized leader that supports Native American students enrolled in post secondary schools.”  Criteria is ” American Indian or Alaska Native descent and enrolled full-time in an accredited two or four-year college/university/technical school. Other criteria depends on the scholarship.


American Indian College Fund ( provides Native students with scholarships and other support since 1989. Alli Moran, Cheyenne River Sioux, is one of those students. Application deadlines vary for scholarships offered by the American Indian College Fund.



The Gates Millennium Scholars Program ( Deadline: Wednesday, January 15, 2014 11:59 PM Eastern Standard Time (EST).The Gates Millennium Scholars (GMS) Program selects 1,000 talented students each year to receive a good-through-graduation scholarship to use at any college or university of their choice. We provide Gates Millennium Scholars with personal and professional development through our leadership programs along with academic support throughout their college career.”


Catching the Dream ( operates three scholarship programs for Native students—MESBEC, the Native American Leadership Education program and the Tribal Business Management program. MESBEC includes math, engineering, science, business, education and computers and is fund’s oldest program. “These fields are the ones in which tribes need graduates the most, and the fields in which there are the fewest Indian graduates,” says the Catching the Dream website. The deadline for the spring semester is September 15.



The American Indian Science and Engineering Society ( provides scholarships to Native students in an effort to increase the representation of American Indians and Alaska Natives in STEM—science, technology, engineering and math—fields. The 2013 AISES National Conference will be held October 31 to November 2 in Denver, Colorado, this year’s theme is Elevate. Applications for travel scholarships to attend are due by September 6.